Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Burbage family

Billnick

Default Burbage family

Hello
    I'm new to all this but do know a little about my family.
    I'm told that my maternal grandfather was born in Cramlington around 1891, but can't find any details.
    His name was Frederick Kemp Burbage.
    If anyone can help in any way, I'd be grateful
    Thanks in anticipation

Famous for offering help & advice

There is a Frederick Kemp Burbage born 1891 on the 1891 census in Peterborough.

Susanna Burbage head widow 1845
    Children
    Martha Harriet
    Fanny Elizabeth
    and Frederick
    Grandson George Williaam Osler

RG12 piece 1229 folio 39 page 17

Think this birth reg is for the above in Cambridgeshire. Mistranscribed as Burback,although image saye Burbage.

Births from quarter Jan-Feb-Mar 1891
    Name:Frederick Kemp Burback
    District:Chesterton
    Ref:Volume 3B Page 255

This looks like a birth reg for the same chap,page and vol number match but reg distict difers although does fit better with the 1891 census area.

Name: Frederick Kemp Burbage
    Date of Registration: Jan-Feb-Mar 1891
    Registration district: Peterborough
    Inferred County: Northamptonshire
    Volume: 3b
    Page: 255

Billnick

Thanks for this, Pamelawagster. I take it the people mentioned-Martha, Fanny & Frederick were Susanna's children? If Frederick is my grandfather, then at least now I have a name for my great-grandmother and names for siblings that I didn't know about.Perhaps now I'll look for him in Peterborough instead of Cramlington.

Yes they were Susannas children.
    If you have access to Ancestry there is quite a lot already on there about this family. If you are not signed up to Ancestry then I believe it can be accessed free a public libraries.

Billnick