Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Wilkes_ml

Default Alternative sources to Parish registers?

What other sources can you recommend, other than wills, for identifying the maiden names of wives when the parish marriage register (of Bardfield Saling, Essex) for the period 1713-1790 is missing and assumed deceased and unlikely to be resuscitated?

I'm pretty new to the early Georgian period so, any good books about useful documents, or recommended websites would be appreciated!

Thanks.

Famous for offering help & advice

Usually the first alternative to consider would be Bishop's Transcripts. They don't always survive, but in theory they are an exact copy of the register, produced each year for submission to the diocesan authorities. However, having checked, I see that there are virtually none surviving for Essex for that period.

Some parishes had transcripts of their registers published 100 years or more ago - worth looking into in case the registers went missing more recently than that? For many counties there are also Phillimore's transcripts of marriage registers, but without checking, I can't tell you whether this covers Bardfield Saling. There are also Boyd's Marriage Index and Pallot's Marriage Index - I think both are online somewhere, but I can't remember where. And again, I don't know details of the coverage, or whether they might have been produced when the registers were still around.

You could also try marriage licences and the associated paperwork (bonds & allegations). These were issued either by the officials of various diocesan bodies (or occasionally other local bodies - "peculiars"), or by central church authorities such as the Faculty Office and the Vicar General. Records for the local ones are likely to be in the diocean record office, but as Essex was in the Diocese of London, you might also need to check with the LMA. The Faculty Office and Vicar General licences are at Lambeth Palace Library.