Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mutley

Default How long have you been 'AT IT'?

Following a couple of recent conversations, with a newbie and an 'old timer' I wondered who might win the title
    of the BG member who has spent the longest time researching family history?

You may be 76 years old but only researching for a year or 36 years old and dabbling at it for twenty years.

I thought long and hard about placing this thread in General Chatter or General Family History Queries but finally decided that it is might be useful for a beginner to realise that the 'job' may be never ending.

BTW. I'm a beginner, only six years on the trail.

Allanah

10 years for me and still lots to do.

Allanah

Colin Rowledge

I'll never tell the truth - you all know that - so my 1st thought was when Moby Dick was a Guppie

In hindsight though, it was when I was going through letters and other papers of my mum who died in 2002 and my dad [aged 83 when mum died and he being illegitimate], it seemed logical to attempt to find his biological father.

In the 1070's I found out about dad's birth At that time the subject was taboo, but I dabbled and had 2 banker's boxes full of paper relating to what I thought was his birth.

So, to the members here, how long I have I been involved? Pick a date

Knowledgeable and helpful warncoort's Avatar

My son was in high school in 1995 and was given a project to produce a family tree.I only knew my parents details so phoned a cousin and she scribbled out most of what she had and the project was completed with 3 generations.Some months later i attended a seminar at the LDS centre,now 17 years and 1107 people later i am still at it.
    Eric

Knowledgeable and helpful