Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    petraroe

Default Ernest John Smith

Hi
    I am hoping someone can help me. I have been researching my family tree on and off for a couple of years. I have got on ok with my dads side with a few hiccups but my maternal grandfather side is proving to be a nightmare.

I have got stuck at my great grandfather.

His name is Ernest John Smith Born 1875 and died in 1950. He appears to have lived most of his life in Horsham Sussex.
    In 1910 he married Julia Gander and had 5 children that I know of my Grandfather William Ernest, and his siblings Agnes, Florence, Alfred and John. (although it appears there may have been a 6th that died in infancy called Annie)

He had two children from a previous marriage but I have no idea what the wifes name was and what happened to her (I assume she died as divorce was not so common back then but who knows) They had two girls who we believe were named Rose and Ethel.

The problem now comes from the fact I cannot find anything else about him. I have no idea what his parents were called, I cannot find him on census records as I only assume he lived in Sussex his whole life.

Can anyone shed some light on Ernest John Smith for me? Any help or suggestions gratefully recieved.

Many thanks
    Petra

malcolm99

Hello Petra,

I 'm supposing this is EJS in the GRO index - Ernest John Smith born Horsham Registration District. December Quarter 1875

Ernest John Smith – this appears to be him in the 1881 census:

1881 Census: RG11 Piece 1110 Folio 25 Page 3

Address: Barnes Green Gates, Itchingfield

Robert Smith, Head, 42, occupation – platelayer. Born Scotland
    Charlotte Smith, wife, 34. Born Salisbury, Wiltshire
    Robert S(?) Smith, son, 12, scholar. Born Heyshot, Sussex
    Peter Mc [some other initial] Smith, son, 10, scholar. Born Heyshott, Sussex
    Ernest J Smith, son, 5, scholar. Born Itchingfield, Sussex