Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    A fountain of knowledge

Default Married in Durban, circa 1902

Hello folks,

You could have knocked me down with a feather today when I learnt that my grandfather's sister Emily Frances Griffith packed her bags in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, shipped out to Durban and married Hugh Owens. I wondered what had become of her.

So now I'm a bit stuck as to how to proceed. I would like to know in what year she was married - after the 2nd South African War, I am guessing. And I would like to know how her husband Hugh Owens came to be there, and for how long. He does not appear to have emigrated with his family. I don't know if he came for diamonds or adventure. He was aged about 32 in 1902. He may have arrived from England, or he may have come from Australia. It is not at all obvious how Emily came to know Hugh sufficiently well to marry him, so I'm inclined to think he had spent some time in Melbourne.

He was a carpenter by trade. Are there any post office directories which might list him? Or an electoral roll? Or an index of marriages in Durban? Or digitised newspapers to have a look at? I'm completely in the dark on research in Durban, though I read a few posts and tried the NAAIRS database without success. I would be grateful for any pointers.

Best wishes

Lenore

Richard1955

Hi Lenore
    If your thinking that they may have originated from the UK as I do then we should be able to find them on census
    rather than directories.
    Would need more info to do that. ie. parents and siblings names and birth years. As much as you have.
    There seems to be plenty of options on Find My Past for Hugh Owens including a prisoner of war released 1900ish
    in South Africa.

A fountain of knowledge

Quote Originally Posted by Richard1955 View Post
    Hi Lenore
    If your thinking that they may have originated from the UK as I do then we should be able to find them on census
    rather than directories.