Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    sandpiper1809

Default Best site to use for completing family tree

I am relatively new to tracing my family tree but am finding rather confusing when filling info onto my family tree (currently using Ancestry.Com) as it does not show all the details I want to see at a glance.
    Are there any other tree builder sites that allow the following info to be shown (without the need to actually clicking on the individuals name)

Name
    Birth & death dates
    Marriage date/s
    Occupation/s
    The one I am using at the moment only shows birth & death, thats it! It could be that I am not using the Ancestry site as it should be and maybe I am able to pick & choose the info that is shown at a glance. But having had a good look on the site...I;ll be damned if I can change it!!
    Any help??

Jan1954

Hello,

Have you tried googling Genealogy Software? A fair old number of websites come up - some have free programmes and others you need to pay to download. However, those that require a fee usually have a time-limited free download so that you can try them out before you buy.

Have a browse of these as well.

Richard1955

Most of the free and paid for software will give you the options of how much and which info to show.
    I personally don't keep my stuff on a family tree on the internet. I prefer to keep it on my computer.
    I don't want to find myself with a subscription that has expired and all my info out of reach.
    I use Myheritage and can view all the things you ask.
    It's free to download but annoyingly it does keep trying to upload to the internet.

'Best site to use for completing family tree'.
    You'll never do that.
    Regards
    Richard

Reputation beyond repute

Best site to use for completing family tree