Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RobinC

Default Family history website

I am toying with the idea of setting up a family history website to put everything I've found out during my research but I have no experience of websites or which programmes would be best to use.

Has anyone set up a website and if so, what programmes do you recommend?

Jan1954

Hello Robin,

Have a peruse of the pages here to see if there is anything that might help you to decide what to do and how to do it.

Meanwhile, I will move your query across to that forum, so that those who have investigated this area may see your question.

Reputation beyond repute

what programmes do you recommend?
    To some extent it depends what family history program you currently use to record all your data. For example, some have some web site facilities built in or there may be third party software with the ability to read your database directly.

AnjaliUK

Someone on the 'Writing up your family history' forum posted a link to their site which looked fantastic, I think they said they used i-Web, which I think is for Mac.

I use Adobe Dreamweaver, which you can use professionally, but I actually just use mine to make a very basic site to store my own notes and make them easy to navigate.

If you have a PC, it may already have Microsoft FrontPage on there, which is a good first time program for web design because it's really easy to use.

RobinC

Quote Originally Posted by AnjaliUK View Post
    Someone on the 'Writing up your family history' forum posted a link to their site which looked fantastic, I think they said they used i-Web, which I think is for Mac.

I use Adobe Dreamweaver, which you can use professionally, but I actually just use mine to make a very basic site to store my own notes and make them easy to navigate.

If you have a PC, it may already have Microsoft FrontPage on there, which is a good first time program for web design because it's really easy to use.