Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    barbaitch40

Default Reynolds: How to trace 4x Gt. Grandparents

I am stuck at 1797 when my 3x Gt Grandfather (Edward John Reynolds) was born, in Bethnal Green, Middlesex, but I have no information about his parents and don't know what to do next. I am very new to this, and only wish I knew a little bit more about brick walls and how to get around them. I would really appreciate it if a kind Brit-Genner could tell me what steps I should take now?

What I'm hoping to find is that my 4x Gt Grandfather originated in Devon (Exeter/Plympton), but until I learn a bit more, it looks like I'm going to stay stuck in Bethnal Green!

Help!

Best wishes, all
    barbaitch

pennydog

Can you give us some more details of Edward John - do you have him on any census? Is 1797 his confirmed dob or have you got it from census returns. Does he have any siblings? The more info you can give us the better chance we have of solving your mystery.

barbaitch40

Hi pennydog:
    Thank you so much for replying. I can't tell you how grateful I am for your offer of help and hope the following information will be of use.

My 3xGt Grandfather, Edward John Reynolds, is on the 1841 Census as being born in 1797 (I have his birth/baptism record as: born 16 April 1797/Bap: 7 May 1797 in St Leonards, Shoreditch, Middx) and living at Robert Street, St Matthew Bethnal Green, Tower Hamlets. Occupation: Greengrocer. His wife was ALICE (Nee Brown), born 1798. Their children were: Edward (b 1822 - although I have his birth year as 1819, baptised: 8 August 1819, St John at Hackney); Elizabeth (b 1820); Ann (b 1824); Hannah (b1827); Joseph (b1829) - all from Bethnal Green, Middx.

Unfortunately, I don't know if my Edward John Snr had any siblings. I know it would make such a difference if I could say otherwise, but sadly I can't.

Maybe it would help if I told you what I'm actually trying to learn by tracing this particular branch of my family tree?