Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default GAERTNER, Catfield

Hi Geoffers, a newbie here. I am trying to obtain any info on a Phillipine Wilhelmine Gaertner who died in Catfield in 1902. I have the relevant census information showing that she was lodging with a 'Barber' family for at least 20 years. She was an equestrian circus performer Would appreciate any help Dave Gaertner

Geoffers

Quote Originally Posted by DaveG
    Hi Geoffers, a newbie here. I am trying to obtain any info on a Phillipine Wilhelmine Gaertner who died in Catfield in 1902. I have the relevant census information showing that she was lodging with a 'Barber' family for at least 20 years. She was an equestrian circus performer Would appreciate any help Dave Gaertner
    I've just returned from holiday, so sorry for delay in replying. To make any suggestions as to where to look, could you tell me if this is her married name and from census returns, where was she born?

Geoffers
    Charlbury, Oxfordshire

Default Gaertner in Catfield

Census gives the following detail
    1901 Madame Gaertner age 66 living on own means (marital condition ‘S’) born Germany FS (French subject?)
    Address given as 27 Bungalow Catfield with William & Mary Ann Barber.
    As far as I am aware she was a widow (possibly of Traugott Gaertner) and she had lodged with the Barbers for at least 20 years. The 1891 census gives her age as 42
    She died 31 May 1902 being buried at Catfield 3rd June (according to death notices) the death being notified by a M Richards ‘causing the body to be buried’ Age at death given as 70. Full name given as Phillipine, Wilhelmine Catherine Theresa Gaertner & she may also have been known as Leopoldine
    Other information says that she appeared at Stoodley & Harmstons Circus Yarmouth 1876 & at Norwich in the 1881/2 season. She was an equestrian. I hope this helps!
    Dave Gaertner

Geoffers

Census gives the following detail