shewhoseeks

Default Help for those who went across the pond - USA

I am a total newbie to English genealogy, but not to genealogy in general, so I thought, I would help with some information that is different here in the states, since so many have been willing to help me on the boards.

The availability of marriage records and land records will be dependent on a very critical factor that affects research here in the states, were the records destroyed by fire. Tennessee and Virginia are among the states most affected in the earliest records, this can be records from the days of the colonies, up to and including the civil war time frame. Many of the courthouses were burned during the American revolution, War of 1812 and the Civil War. In some states, such as Alabama, about 80 percent of the counties have burned at some point, not always as a result of war. I have one county I research where the courthouse burned three times. Needless to say, it makes research difficult.

Birth and death certificates
    Almost all of states do not have birth or death certificates until after 1900. Each state controls the laws that apply to the certificates, who can order them, etc. In most states, it is like in England, a father cannot be named without his signature, but not in all. In some states copies can be obtained from the county (for example New York and Florida) and others (like Arkansas) only in the state office. Most states archives do not have this information. Due to identity theft, many of the states changed the laws in the late 1980's and early 1990's on who can order a copy of certificates. In some states this applies only to birth certificates, and in other's it applies to both birth and death certificates. A photo id is usually required to purchase a copy. Vital Chek is a service that provides a link to ordering copies online, it does not charge more than the usual fee I dont believe.

Marriage Records