Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Chipp'n'Dale

Question Idiots Guide To Wills??

Does anyone know a good website with an 'idiots guide' to researching wills?

I've never done much with them before (only looked at those for g-parents which were kept in the family). But now work has moved to central London so popping in to the place in Holborn seems a more realistic option. Trouble is, I'm having trouble getting my head round things - pre-/post-1858, calenders, various courts, etc, etc.
    Would quite like a straightforward (although I realise that might be expecting too much) "what to find and where", with an indication of who might be a "good ancestor" to try to track down/ones not to bother with, just to get me started.

Geoffers

Wills are a great resource and I hope the following very brief precis doesn't cause additional confusion.

As you mention the important date is 1858.

From 1858 onwards, all wills proved in England and Wales are held by the Court of Probate; you can search them and order copies at The Probate Search Room, First Avenue House, 42-49 High Holborn, London.

The wills from 1858 are indexed. The index is known as the Probate Calendar. It is easy to use and contains quite a lot of detail. If you cannot get to London, it has been copied onto film and can be seen at many County Record Offices ('phone first to check for availability and coverage and if you need to reserve a film reader). Some district probate registries also have partial copies of the Probate Calendar ('phone first to check). LDS films of it can be ordered into Mormon Family History Centres.

The Probate Calendar for 1861-1941 (with gaps) is available on the pay/subscription site 'Ancestry'.

If you can't access the Calendar, the Probate Search Department will carry out a four-year search for a will on your behalf. The fee is £6.00, which includes a copy of any will or grant of administration found. If nothing is found, your fee is not refunded.