Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shelleysgirl

Default MOSES MURRAY'S WIFE ESSEX

HI. I'm not sure if this qualifies as a Brick Wall as I am new to this, but all advice gratefully received. I am trying to work out who my Grandfathers Mother was. I know his Grandfather was Moses Murray(b: 1828 Ramsden, d: c1917 Orsett) and he was 'married' to Louisa(b: 1830, d: 1911) but their daughter seems to be missing from my information. I, like many others, am on limited funds and am trying to get as much info before requesting certificates to avoid spending out for ones that are definately not relevant. Here is my first dilemma:
    1891 Census – RG12 1383 59 8
    Victoria Cottage, Wickford, Essex
    MOSES MURRAY – AGE 62 – CARRIER & COAL MERCHANT
    LOUISA MURRAY – AGE 61 - WIFE
    HERBERT C HERVEY – SON IN LAW – AGE 26 – RAILWAY LABOURER – B: NEVENDON
    ARTHUR W HERVEY –GRANDSON – AGE 5 – B: BILLERICAY
    The Name should have been Harvey and Arthurs birth record shows it as such but I cannot trace the mothers Christian Name, or any of Moses and Luoisas other children, if any. I am not sure if Louisa was a second wife as this seems to have been a late union.

There are 2 Moses possibilities on the 1881 Census as he is recorded as unmarried and living/ visiting his Mother Susannah with his brother Benjamin at Ramsden. There is also another Moses here:
    1881 Census – RG11 1755 47 7
    Pump Street, Horndon on Hill, Essex
    MOSES MURRY RECORDED AS FATHER TO OSBORN CHILDREN
    ELIZABETH MURRY
    FREDERICK OSBORN, AGE 16, EDITH OSBORN, AGE 6, HARRY OSBORN, AGE 13, ARTHUR OSBORN, AGE 3, WILLIAM OSBORN, AGE 11, JOSEPH OSBORN, AGE 9

The reason for suspecting this could be him is that on 1871 Census he appeared here:
    1871 Census – RG10 1654 129
    Jefferies – Orsett, Stanford Le Hope
    MOSES MURRAY – BORN NEVENDON
    ELIZABETH MURRAY – AGE 30 BORN RAMSDEN
    SUSAN MURRAY – AGE 6 BORN NORTH BENFLEET