Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Loves to help with queries

Question CHAMBERS and ISAACSON of Swaffham Bulbeck

First, I have to say I'm fairly new to this so apologies if I don't give all the right information!

I am researching some of the Isaacsons of Swaffham Bulbeck, Cambridgeshire. I am specifically interested in Julia/Juliana Isaacson who was born in 1855 (parents Jethro and Amy). I have all the info I need about Juliana herself (my Great Grandmother via her marriage to William Crockett) but in 1871 she was working as a domestic servant at Burgh Hall for the Chambers family and in 1877 she gave birth to an illigitimate son who she named William Frederick Chambers Isaacson. Methinks there may have been some funny business below stairs!

Chambers (as he was known) was brought up by his grandmother Amy (I have his 1881 census details but can't find him in 1891 or 1901, if anyone can help?)

He married in 1908 (either Florence Harding or Sarah Hornsey) in Stratford (London, I think rather than Avon, but I could be wrong) but I have no further information on him. I would like to find out if they had any children, where they lived, what he did etc.

If anyone has a connection to this branch of the Isaacson tree I would love to hear from you.

Copper

Careful quizzing of the 1911 census index gives this family

Stratford on Avon registration district

William Isaacson, age 34
    Sarah Isaacson, age 23
    Cyril Isaacson, age 11 months

From this you can deduce that he married Sarah Hornsey. Now you can quiz Free BMD to see if there were any other Isaacson children with a mother's maiden name Hornsey.

spison

I'm sorry Dogaholic,