Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    pamelaann

Default The London Lunatic Asylum, Dartford,Kent

Hello, I am new to this forum but already I have been given some info that might be of help to me. I have been researching for over 4 years now, I find it really interesting and am completely hooked on it. Just want to keep going.The problem I am having is finding my Gt.Grandmother Ellen Mason (Rex) I was told by my grandmother that her mother was put into a mental inst. at the time grandma was told her mother had died this was approx.1900 grandma was about 8years. Years later she found out that her mother had been put into a mental inst.I traced Ellen on the 1901 census in The London Lunatic Asylum, Dartford,Kent. after that nothing. I found 1 burial for 1903 in Kent in the name of Mason no first name and no age, I have queried this and have been told that these details would have been withheld as this person would have died in an institution. Where do I go from here? Could they have transferred her to another inst. who holds these records.N.A said they may have them but have not stated that they do hold them. Is there a way I can search these records online I seem to be banging my head against a brick wall. It is so frustrating.

Pam101

Hope you find these links of interest / use:

https://www.countyasylums.com/mentalasylums/london.htm

https://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/...ad.php?t=12458

Scroll down about 1/6th of distance to City of London Mental Hospital
    https://www.mdx.ac.uk/WWW/STUDY/4_13_TA.htm#Stone

Procat

Hi Pamelaann,

I have split these two posts off your introduce yourself posting to give them a thread of their own.

This may lead to you getting more responses.

Reputation beyond repute

Quote Originally Posted by pamelaann View Post
    I found 1 burial for 1903 in Kent in the name of Mason no first name and no age, I have queried this and have been told that these details would have been withheld as this person would have died in an institution.