Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lay preacher?

flounder

Default Lay preacher?

I spoke to my cousin last night and just by chance i asked him what our gt gt father was like (due to a 38 year family fued i have no knowledge) and was told he was a Lay Preacher and Spiritualist, i know what the latter is just dont understand the 1st. I am gradually working my way through the family to find out about that side of the family but its proving a tad bit difficult.
    His surname was Jones, around the Merthyr Tydvil area and am assuming this was 1950's and earlier.

Many thanks
    Wendy.xxx

Peph

A lay preacher is/was a preacher who hasn't been professionally trained.

flounder

Many thanks, apparently he was a bit of a character, and had a habit of speaking his mind and not keeping his mouth shut! On 1 such ocassion he had a frying pan bashed over his head! He lived to see another day lol
    Well at least he wasnt a miner like the 99% of my family.

Thanks again
    Wendy.xxx

A fountain of knowledge mary elms's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Peph
    A lay preacher is/was a preacher who hasn't been professionally trained.
    Not necessarily. Some lay preachers are/were quite extensively trained! 'Lay' in this case usually means not ordained.

Mary.

Maximilian

Default Lay Preachers and Spiritualism

Quote Originally Posted by mary elms View Post
    Not necessarily. Some lay preachers are/were quite extensively trained! 'Lay' in this case usually means not ordained.

Mary.
    The original question was about a man said to have been both a Lay Preacher and a Spiritualist. Since, so far as I am aware, Spritualists do not have an ordained Ministry, I am sceptical as to whether they would use the term Lay Preacher, which, as has been said, is a term to describe a person authorised within a particular denomination to preach, and sometimes carry out other functions, but not ordained to the Ministry.