Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Siennahall

Smile How do I trace a Birth Record In/from Armagh

Hi, Wondered if anyone could help. I am tracing my Gr8 Gr8 Grandfather, Francis McShane, he was born in Armagh (unfortunately, thats the only information on the place) in 1841/42. He joined the army 6th Inniskillings, however, I am just trying to find out more details on that. I would like to try and find his birth record and maybe any other information of his time in Ireland and when he came over to England. I also know that his father was called Richard, and possibly, although not too sure, as there are an awful lot of McShanes, that his mother may have been called Martha. I would be grateful of any help anyone may be able to provide. Thanks very much.

Reputation beyond repute

I'm not an expert on Ireland but isn't Armagh a county?

His army attestation papers should show the parish where he was born. If I were you, I would concentrate on trying to get hold of those first.

https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/c...?sLeafletID=14

Siennahall

Smile

Thanks very much for your help. I think you are right, Armagh is a county, although I believe there is a town called Armagh too. Unfortunately, this is the only information there is on the census records etc, which makes me think he could be from the town Armagh. Although I could be very wrong. I am trying to locate his Army Records, although I am having trouble finding them. Once again, thanks very much.....

Hall/Swan

Default Armagh

Armagh is a City in County Armagh.

It was also the record centre for Co Monaghan and parts of Co Cavan prior to 1921.

HTH

Hall/Swan

Default armagh again

Forgot to paste this in last message;

ARMAGH