Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Warren family

Knowledgeable and helpful

Default Warren family

I would be interested to know if anyone has a connection with the Warren family in Suffolk. There are a many but my branch comes from Beccles, Earl Stonham, Stowmarket and Thingoe
    My grandmother (Florence Warren from Stowmarket) was staying with cousins Charles and Henry Warren in Earl Stonham in 1881 but I cannot yet connect the two families. Both families were wheelwrights by trade.
    Her father, Harry Warren b 1840, came from Beccles (mother Laura Hudson from Kirton) his father was William also born in Beccles and mother Elizabeth from Walton. He had a sister Mary Ann who went to London as as servant and married into the Stanton family of Silk Mill fame. The cousins however were born in Earl Stonham as was their father Charles. The only possible clue I have is from the 1841 census which shows the cousin's grandfather Thomas with a birth place as just Suffolk, no specific town, so it is possible he did originally come from Beccles and I need to go back a generation of so to find the connection.
    Would appreciate any suggestions on how to tackle this! I suppose I would need to get access to parish records for Beccles and Earl Stonham. Hopefully the genealogy centre here in Australia will have those.
    Many thanks for help given in the past.

jeeb

Default Warren family

Hi Dargie,
    According to the 1841 census Harry is the (apparent) son of William & Hannah Warren. (You have said his mother was an Elizabeth?)

I wonder if you have found Harry in 1851 as he is 'fairly well disguised'. There is a possible clue to his family connections there which may help unravel the relationships but is possibly more connected on the female side.

He is indexed as Harry Waner born Bedefs but I have checked and he is Harry Warren age 11 born Beccles:-

Ref Ho107/1796 Folio- Not given, Page 1 Roll 207445
    Weybread Suffolk