Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Starting to feel at home

Default Civil service records

Hello all.

Greetings from New England, USA.
    Except for a detour into Cuba, most of my paternal line is from England. I have been doing this obsessively for about two years and have done rather well. I do, however, have a few blank spaces and hope someone on this forum will be able to help me fill them .

My great grandfather, Frederick W. Ramsden, was the British consul in Santiago de Cuba. He left England ca. 1857 as an employee of the Brooks Company for Cuba and died at the end of the Spanish- American War. It is practically impossible to get records from Cuba at the moment and he and his family listed themselves as British subjects. Is there anywhere that the British government keeps records of British subjects who live outside the country, where their birth, marriage and death records are kept?

In addition, does anyone have information about the Brooks Company?

Thanks in advance.

Geoffers

British consular records and corespondence are held at The National Archives (TNA), at Kew for scope and content of the records, have a browse of the following TNA research guide
    https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/c...sLeafletID=214

hughar

A Google search for your man finds 8 articles, and a further 65 at https://books.google.com/

The New York Times of 26 March 1901, reporting on the erection of a tablet in his memory by the US Navy, says that he died in Jamaica on 10 August 1898. The New York Times archive is now free online, so you will be able to read the article from the Google link.

The tablet also got a brief mention in the Court Circular column of The Times on 6 April 1901.
    Last edited by hughar; 04-11-2007 at 11:55 AM. Reason: Added reference to The Times

hughar