PDA

View Full Version : Is FTM my next step?

Blaeberry
08-12-2016, 8:43 PM
Hi,
I have about 250 people in my family tree and I'm looking for a way to view and display certain branches. I have an Ancestry subscription but I am always frustrated that I can't find a way to look at or print, say, one part of a branch, in a nice format.
I want some pages of the family tree to combine with scrapbook pages of ancestors so I want a flexible, attractive way to display the bits I want.
I'm not sure of the report or chart options available in FTM and so wondered if it is the thing I'm after.
Thanks in advance. :)

Megan Roberts
08-12-2016, 10:13 PM
It may well be, but you need to know that Ancestry have sold FTM and it is now owned by another company. That company is working with Ancestry but they are not linked. If you want to check out their site for their new chart options:

http://www.mackiev.com/

Lesley Robertson
09-12-2016, 6:48 AM
I've been a happy FTM for a long, long time. That said, Anc had already removed some tree options (I actually have 2 versions running side by side - from before and after Anc. Then there's the complications mentioned by Megan. Everything depends on how much you want the online sync.
Different people have different requirements so we can't guess which would suit you best. Most of the modern software packages have trial versions, and I'd advise anyone who's just starting to try as many as possible before deciding which to use. You wouldn't need to retype your test data set, any decent software can read and write ascii files - the genealogical version of text files. That means that if you generate such a file with your first test run, you can just read them in and play.

Pam Downes
09-12-2016, 10:07 AM