PDA

View Full Version : Help in finding my dad's military history

Cupcake
04-06-2014, 9:59 AM
Hi, I am new to this & have to say, I do not find this site friendly! I am trying to find out about my Dad who served from 1939-45. I have his Soldiers Release book which tells me his army number & what Rgt(RA) he was last serving with. Can any one tell me if this would be the same rgt he enlisted with or would it have changed during his time of service? My dad never talked about the war or even collected his medals & after he died my mom said he was involved, like many, with the Normandy invasion. I am not sure how true this is as I have no idea how to go around finding out. I have googled etc with no joy. Even when i put his name & number in on this site i get nothing. Can anyone give me any guidance? many thanks..oh by the way, a couple of years after his death, I finally got all his medals oh his behalf

christanel
04-06-2014, 10:31 AM
Hello cupcake and welcome to British-Genealogy :smile5:

You will not find your father's service records online as WW11 records are still held by the MOD. You can order them by following the links from here (http://www.veterans-uk.info/service_records/service_records.html) It will tell you who can order the records and what information you have to provide.

Christina

Cupcake
04-06-2014, 10:43 AM
Ahh, thank you so much for the info. I wish it said this at the beginning...I would not have joined up!

timbo58
04-06-2014, 11:14 AM
I am quite sure FWRs support will refund you if you feel this was not obvious from the outset before you paid.
They are pretty reasonable ion that respect.

The FWR main site under tutorials (viewable in full before payment) does state this very clearly however.
Which is more than other genealogy sites I have experienced I do have to stress.

Cupcake
04-06-2014, 12:23 PM