PDA

View Full Version : Lost STRONG's of England

Dreamer
26-08-2005, 9:40 PM
Morning - this is my first time on here.

Robert STRONG was born about 1792 some where in England, he married 1/8/1813 Hornsey Parish Middlesex, to Margaret FISHER from Norfolk born about 1793. They had 7 children. John, Robert, Rosina, Charles, George (gggf), Sarah & Susannah all born in the Rothehithe area. Robert snr died of cholera in 1849, John & Susannah die young, George came to NZ in 1847, followed by Charles & Robert 1856 and Sarah in 1865, leaving Rosina and Margaret behind. These two I have not been able to trace what happened to them. Also I would like to find where Robert snr was born, his parents or siblings and who were Margaret's family. The family that came to NZ, I have traced all the family to present date but would love to find members of the family prior to these dates.
If any one has a clue to help or has these people in their tree I would love to hear from you.

Trish
26-08-2005, 10:21 PM
Welcome aboard!

Do you think this could be your Margaret STRONG and daughter Margaret and their family in the 1861 census?

Address: Silver St., Rotherhithe, Surrey
George Fredk STEWART Head 25 Labr Docks born Surry [sic], Clapham
Margt STEWART Wife 34 born Surry, Rotherhithe
Margt STRONG Mother Widow 70 born Norfolk, Norwich
Frans ASHWOOD Son 13 born Surry, Rotherhithe
Chars ASHWOOD Son 11 born Surry, Rotherhithe
Robt ASHWOOD Son 9 Scholar born Surry, Rotherhithe
Geo STEWART Son 1 born Surry, Rotherhithe

Reference: RG9/390 Folio 27

Looks like George Frederick STEWART is daughter Margaret's second husband.

Hope this helps,
Trish

Trish
26-08-2005, 10:30 PM
FYI... the STEWARTs in 1871:

Address: No. 13 Silver Street, Rotherhithe, Surrey

George STEWART Head Married 36 Labourer born Surrey, Clapham
Robert ASHWOOD Son 19 Labourer born Surrey, Rotherhithe
Nathaniel ASHWOOD Son 17 Labourer born Surrey, Rotherhithe
George STEWART Son 11 born Surrey, Rotherhithe