PDA

View Full Version : Website

SReid80
23-07-2013, 1:49 PM
I'm new to this but have started researching my family tree and am wondering how to do it so that other family members can see where I'm up to. Is there specific family tree software? Is there a limit to how much you can put on it? I wondered if this kind of thing
http://website.1and1.
co.uk/website-builder
might be better as I have no experience of setting up a website.
How do other people do this?

arthurk
23-07-2013, 7:00 PM
Hi, and welcome

As well as this board, you might like to have a look at the one entitled Web Pages Design, at http://www.british-genealogy.com/forums/forumdisplay.php/226-Web-pages-design (In fact a moderator might decide this thread would be better moved to there.) This kind of question has been asked before, and there are some useful ideas there.

Before you commit yourself to anything you need to think about exactly what you want to do. Do you want to simply present information, or do you want a site where other people can collaborate and add things?

For the former, one option is to organise some web space - either paid for (as at 1&1) or free, probably with adverts (Rootsweb Freepages is one option) - and then create files for it. The site builder at 1&1 (or a similar package with another host) could do this, but you would in effect have to start from scratch and decide on the structure of the site and the content of each page. Alternatively, most FH software programs can produce the files for a website, which you then upload. Or you can use a WYSIWYG HTML editor (or teach yourself to do it longhand in Notepad or similar) to create your own pages. The amount of webspace you get and the cost vary from one company to another.