PDA

View Full Version : New(ish) Version of FamilySearch

Degan
17-05-2011, 6:48 PM
Does everyone like this new version, or is it just me that has trouble?

Even with the advanced search option I seem to get loads of results that I don't want. For instance I might want a birth/baptism record and amongst some baptisms I get census from various years. I have a subscription to FMP so don't need familysearch for census but I tried a search for someone and there doesn't seem a way of putting a year of birth, so if you have a common name there are tons of results.

Is this filter that they have added recently supposed to help?

On the IGI with a batch number you can find siblings by using a surname and a range of years, but how do you do that with this version?

It's probably me that is not using it correctly and I would appreciate any tips that might make searching easier.

Thanks in advance
Degan

On the plus side I have found original images of some American census which was a bonus.

Elwyn Soutter
17-05-2011, 7:08 PM
I agree and have seen a number of similar comments on other sites. The lack of filters seems to be the main gripe but I am also seeing nonsensical results in some searches too. I have used the feedback link to comment on this whenever appropriate.

warncoort
17-05-2011, 10:54 PM
Sibling search works when you specify exact match for location,surname and years.Some filters seem pointless,particularly location where you are restricted to Europe instead of an English county.
Feedback report is worth completing as they wont know what complaints we have otherwise.

mags68
18-05-2011, 2:04 PM
All of the above, when it can be bothered to work!

Desperate Dan
18-05-2011, 3:58 PM
I must agree with the above comments, and I have heard similar at my local F/History Society.