PDA

View Full Version : Albert FERNANDEZ died 1935

annek
09-02-2011, 6:13 PM
Hi All,

I've really only just started trying to trace my ancestors. Finding it very difficult as there are so many sites to choose from. This is the only site I've registered and I am hoping to find my "tracing ancestry" legs and get a lot of tips from you more experienced guys. I honestly don't know where to start. I have actually started with me and have only worked back as far as my grand-father. I have his death certificate but the problem is he lived and died in India. Oh well I will keep trying and will read all your posts to get clues etc.

bigmonkey
09-02-2011, 6:43 PM
Hi I'm very new to this too, but I found a lot of info about my India rellies on the following site
http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#start

LittleSpark
09-02-2011, 7:50 PM
Hi Annek :seeya:
Welcome to BG the best forum for help with any queries you have.

The death certificate you have should show how old your grandfather was when he died (hopefully it's on if he died in India) thereby giving you an idea of when he was born. If he was born in UK you could order his birth certificate which would then give you HIS parents - and away you go!

You'll soon become as addictive as everyone here - good luck with your research.

Sheila

annek
11-02-2011, 3:16 PM
Thanks LittleSpark, grand father was not born in the UK and the stamp on the burial (not death) certificate looks like PETRI GANGAPUR DIOEC. AJMEREN. I've looked through the Catholic Church directory and cannot seem to find this church. If you or anyone else have any ideas they would be most welcome. The date he died is 13th April 1935 and it gives his age as 48 years which puts his year of birth as 1887.

annek
11-02-2011, 4:33 PM
Hi I'm very new to this too, but I found a lot of info about my India rellies on the following site
http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#start

Hi bigmonkey