PDA

View Full Version : Entailed landed estate?

Tamara
09-01-2011, 7:17 PM
Hello,
I have come across this term in my research and I'm having difficulty understanding the details of it. Does this mean that on the death of the original heir the estate passes to the next person named in the will? Can the original heir take the inheirtance and do what he wants with it or does it have to pass to the next person in line once the original heir is deceased. I am very new at wills and probate and find it extremely confusing. Any help would be appreciated.

Tamara

Tolly
09-01-2011, 7:36 PM
entailment was a legal means of ensuring that the land could not be broken up when it was bequeathed and only passed down to defined heirs

paul

Ladkyis
09-01-2011, 7:45 PM
It is my understanding that if land is entailed then there are very specific rules about who can inherit. Usually it is the eldest male heir so if the present owner dies his heir will be the eldest of his male children. If he has no children then it will go to his brother who is next eldest. If he has no brothers then it will go to a male child of a sister. After that my head hurts and my eyes go funny.
Basically the estate will go to the nearest male relative.
There is a wonderful series on TV here called Downton Abbey which examines this problem. It is a costume drama and totally fictitious but was written by the same man who wrote Gosford Park so the period details are good and the interaction between family members is realistic.