PDA

View Full Version : I don't believe it!!

busyglen
03-06-2005, 11:30 AM
In the words of Victor Meldrew `I don't believe it'!!

For 4 years (when I started out on Geneology) I have been looking for my Naish family. Now, I am no different than anyone else, in that things are seldom easy in this game and there is a lot of `Sherlock Holmes' tactics needed to worm out the details. As a newbie, I was prepared for a long haul, especially as I knew nothing at all about my gt. grandfather. I started out by buying the 1881 Census CD's and eventually found him via my grandmothers name in Chelsea. His place of birth was given as `Berkshire'. Great, but where? I eventually managed to get a place from the 1901 Census which said `Birch Hill'. No luck....zilch. Someone did suggest Beech Hill, but couldn't find him. Then, I finally found his sister who consistently said Beech Hill, so I started on that. Still no luck. Then....(as I mentioned in an earlier thread) I was having a clear-out of all the paper notes and came across a message I'd had saying that there was a Joseph Naish in Stratfield Saye, which was the Tything of Beech Hill. Eureka!! I'd missed this important piece of information earlier, but now I had him!! From help on the Forum, I've pieced together quite a bit and was feeling really pleased.

Today, I have been having another huge clear out of paper that wasn't in my files.....some, four years old!! This was piled on a stool in the corner, so I kept ignoring it, as I thought it wasn't important. How wrong was I?!! :(