PDA

View Full Version : A garden party - can anyone date this

lesleys
16-02-2010, 2:04 PM
http://i743.photobucket.com/albums/xx80/jlkwoof/holwellmanor.jpg

I think I know who some of the people are but a date would help - thanks

Gododdin
17-02-2010, 10:50 PM
It seems the leg of mutton sleeves came into style sometime in the 1890s; those and the hairstyles should place it a little more closely with some more expert opinion than mine. You could do worse than look at google images.
Godo

v.wells
18-02-2010, 12:37 AM
What a wonderful photo Lesleys! :) I would think mid to late 1890's, but I am not an expert.

lesleys
18-02-2010, 9:42 AM
I think it is earlier - the skirts seem too full for the 1890's. If she is who I think she is, the widow seated far left died in 1881. Two of her married daughters died in 1877 & 1883.
I can see more research is needed.
We do know the location of the house and of it's current (unrelated) occupants.

David Benson
18-02-2010, 9:52 AM
As you know the location - try looking at the address in the census about that time to see who was resident. This may give clues to who is in the photo.

lesleys
18-02-2010, 10:25 AM
Census info does not help unfortunately -
1861 Mary Ann and her 2 unmarried daughters, three unmarried sons and one grand-daughter
1871 Mary Ann one son and one grandson
1881 Mary Ann one son and his family inc 5 children under 10
1891 Son and family have moved to a new home aftre Mary Ann's death.

Which is why I suspect it to be around 1870-80 when her two married daughters could have been visiting.

David Annis
18-02-2010, 1:37 PM
Looking at the lady in white standing up on the right, she is wearing a dress over a frame and the gentleman is wearing a fashion that would suggest somewhere around 1860/70.
The photo is a set pose.
One lady sitting to the left, one lady sitting and one standing, two Lady's and a man standing.
Taken by the look of it, on a warm summers day, all the upstairs windows and the door are open.