PDA

View Full Version : old photo uniform

alimak
10-04-2005, 7:32 PM
i would like to know what uniform my grandmother is wearing and how old would she be on it the back of photo has DE YOUNGS BROADWAY AND 12th STREET, i also have a phot of her with my father on back has birkenhead uk where my father and myself where born i know he was born in december 1997 , but she looks a lot older on it , it would help me a lot if i could put an age to both of them as i only have her name KATHLEEN FARRELL to go by.- PS HOW DO I SEND MY PHOTOS IM NEW TO THREAD

Jo Simpsons
16-05-2005, 3:17 PM
For Alimak.Hope this is ok.
this photo has studios de young broadway and 12th st manhatton.
Alice in scotland

http://www.tribalpages.com/tpphotos/fullphotos43/jo14_439182.jpg

Jo Simpsons
17-05-2005, 9:26 AM
For Alimak

Guess on age? Baby born 1877

http://www.tribalpages.com/tpphotos/fullphotos43/jo14_439696.jpg

alimak
18-05-2005, 6:06 PM
the baby my father was born in 1897 not 1997 ? and how old would his mother be would like to know, also she is in uniform but is it a nurses uniform or domestic, has the photographer as De Young broadway and 12th st manhatton ,how old is llady in uniform ,if i find out her age i think it would point me in right direction in finding her ?

Geoffers
18-05-2005, 8:06 PM
i would like to know what uniform my grandmother is wearingDo you know if she was ever in service? It looks similar to the outift a maid might wear.

and how old would she bePure guess, but I'd suggest in her 20's in the first photo and 20s/30s in the second. Have you traced when she married, or died? If your father was born 1897 and the photo was taken in Birkenhead, does the family appear in the 1901 census?
The 1901 census website shows the following Kathleen FARRELLs who would have been old enough to have been a mum in 1897

Kathleen Farrell 24 Ireland Middlesex Finchley Domestic Servant
Kathleen Farrell 32 Ireland ... Surrey Walton On Thames Parlourmaid Domestic