PDA

View Full Version : Unknown uniform

rab3uk
15-11-2009, 7:13 PM
Hi, I'm new to this group but hope someone can help me. I have been doing genealogy for more than 20 years but have been really stuck with one ancestor, my great grandfather, Charles Augustus Mathews. Family legend states he was in the Crimean War (but under an assumed name) and supposedly won the VC (I take that with a pinch of salt). However, he is mentioned in the Salvation Army Social Gazette as being a Crimean Veteran which seems to support part of the story. The only clue I have is of him in what appears to be some sort of army uniform, but it is like nothing I have every seen. I would very much appreciate it if people could take a look and tell me if they recognise this as a uniform and any information they could give me that might help me further in my research would be so very much appreciated. The jacket does appear to be at least part of a formal soldier's uniform and there seem to be sergeant's stripes on the arm, but the whole thing looks a bit wierd and I know that later on he went to Africa, so this might have been his idea of suitable clothing for that adventure. Any ideas out there? I think I have managed to put a link to the photo here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/13506045@N02/4106002955/in/set-72157622809174040/

Neil Wilson
15-11-2009, 7:52 PM
Hello Rab3UK and welcome to the forum.
Could it been taken around the time of the Boer War? His age then might give a clue?

rab3uk
15-11-2009, 9:21 PM
Boer War seems to have been about 1899-ish. Charles was definitely not in that. He would have been about 63 by then, and is clearly younger in the photo.

Michael Duke
16-11-2009, 10:59 AM
Hello rab3uk,

Can I suggest that your South African link is the right one, but I also suggest that you look more to the Zulu wars during 1879 and later.

The uniform is indicative of the bush uniform of that area and era, Lord Chelmsford had an army of about 40000 troops at that time in South Africa.