PDA

View Full Version : Advice on internet settings please

ruthrrr
27-03-2005, 10:52 PM
Hi

Hope someone can help but am a complete novice on this... I have been having problems getting into Ancestry and if I do get in, problems viewing any census image.

I've consulted their help page, following their advice I have 1) cleared my temporary internet files and 2) allocated more space to my temporary internet files. However although accessing and searching the site has now definately speeded up, I am still having problems getting a census image to appear. The little timing box at the bottom of the screen (no idea what is is called) gets stuck on 4 bars!

They have also suggest changing the setting so that temporary internet files are delete when the browser is closed. What is the benefit of not doing this and keeping the files for a while?

Another suggestion to make access access quicker, is to delete all the cookie files except index.dat from the system - is this a good idea?

Any guidance will be gratefully received.

Ruth

Steve Steere
27-03-2005, 11:23 PM
Hi Ruth,

Are you on a dial up connection or broadband?
Are you using their basic viewer, or do you now have their enhanced viewer?
The new one has icons at the top, left to right of; A hand (Drag), Magnifying glass (In), Magnifying glass (out), page size in percentage box, magnifying glass & page, then an options icon where you can choose the quality of the image.
I do wonder if you have the old one.

Regards,

Steve

ruthrrr
27-03-2005, 11:41 PM
Hi Steve

Are you on a dial up connection or broadband?Steve
I am on dial up.

Are you using their basic viewer, or do you now have their enhanced viewer?
The new one has icons at the top, left to right of; A hand (Drag), Magnifying glass (In), Magnifying glass (out), page size in percentage box, magnifying glass & page, then an options icon where you can choose the quality of the image.
Steve