PDA

View Full Version : Drinks Manufacturers - PO Trade Directory

A Lee
28-03-2009, 11:14 AM
I'm not 100% sure I've put this is the right section, so I'm open to being told to put it somewhere else!

I am studying the HAMMANT family tree, in the 1914 PO Trades directory under the heading of Mineral Water, Soda Water, Lemonade and Ginger Beer Manufacturers, I found an entry for HAMMANT & CO, 22, Caldew Street, Camberwell.

I have an ancestor at that time who worked in pubs and Caldew Street is just down the road from where some of my family were living in the 1911 census.

My question is, how do I find out more about this 'company', particularly who it comprised of?
I have done an address search on 22 Caldew street on the 1911 census site but they only have an entry for no. 27!

Any ideas?

Many thanks

Alison

daggers
28-03-2009, 4:52 PM
It seems unlikely that anyone would live on the premises, except perhaps a watchman. You could try earlier directories for the surname, where the occupation of residents was often shown, and try earlier census returns as well.
D

A Lee
28-03-2009, 4:56 PM
Thanks for the reply. Do you think it would have been a 'proper business set-up' back then, as opposed to a few family members working from someones home address?

Geoffers
28-03-2009, 4:58 PM
I am studying the HAMMANT family tree, in the 1914 PO Trades directory under the heading of Mineral Water, Soda Water, Lemonade and Ginger Beer Manufacturers, I found an entry for HAMMANT & CO, 22, Caldew Street, Camberwell..

A couple of thoughts............

Are there any company records listed in The National Archives catalogue?

Is the company mentioned in the London Gazette?

Did the chap you know to have lived in the area, leave a will when he died? - OR - from his marriage certificate you will have his dad's name and occupation. Was his dad the owner of a company? Did he leave a will when he died in which he mentions the company?

A Lee
28-03-2009, 5:11 PM