PDA

View Full Version : Dentistry - Way back then

Mutley
23-03-2009, 10:19 PM
I have recently found a dentist in my tree in the 1830's and have been googling for hours. I am amazed at what our ancestors went through.

Fillings were often mercury and many of our ancestors that died in asylums could have been suffering from mercury poisoning.

Poor people were paid to have their healthy teeth removed and inserted into the waiting mouths of rich patients! Though this practice died out when it was found syphilis could be transmitted this way. ;)

Did you know that many dentists then, were self taught tooth drawers, anybody could set themselves up to do 'it' and it was often the job of a barber or the village blacksmith. By 1800 there were still relatively few dentists in England: about 40 operated in London and 20 in the provinces.

Dentists have the highest rate of suicides over any other profession.

The first reclining chair was invented in 1832 by James Snell, a London dentist.
The British Dentists Act regulating the profession did not come into force until 1878 and was not fully regulated until the 1921 Act.
Ether was first used as an anesthesia in 1844 in America.

No wonder we are so scared of dentists, it is in our genes:D

Mutley
23-03-2009, 11:04 PM
Not to forget 'Waterloo teeth', Mutley - those pulled from the mouths of battlefield corpses, and made into dentures!

Oooh!! I read that bit too, Gory indeed!! ;)

One of the more unusual books on my shelves is The Strange Story of False Teeth, by John Woodforde. Long out of print, but well worth reading should you ever see a copy.

You never cease to amaze and delight! What are you doing with that book, may I ask? :) You must have a story attached to your purchase.

Mutley
23-03-2009, 11:22 PM
http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x170/tetvet6768/GIF%20Images/falseteeth2.gif

MarkJ
24-03-2009, 12:46 AM
As a dentist-phobic, I only just managed to read this thread ;)