PDA

View Full Version : Aberdeen Royal Asylum

liesl
10-03-2009, 2:51 AM
Hi all,

It looks like I have found an ancestor on the 1881 census as being in the Insane Asylum in Aberdeen. She is on the census as Mary MORTON or COUTTS (Morton is her maiden name, Coutts her married name).

Can anyone tell me how I might be able to obtain records about the asylum from this time? I would like to know what she was 'in' for and how long she was there.

She turns up on the 1891 census as May COUTTS living with her niece and family.

Thanks!

Colin Moretti
10-03-2009, 9:12 AM
Here's the information you need (http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/hospitalrecords/details.asp?id=1483&hospital=&town=aberdeen&searchdatabase.x=0&searchdatabase.y=0), from the TNA Hospital Records Database (http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/hospitalrecords/default.asp)

Colin

liesl
10-03-2009, 9:06 PM
Thanks Colin! that's the place!

Sorry but I am a bit dumb |blush|(hopefully because I am only new to this!!) I am not sure what this gives me? Is it an address to write to for the actual records??

Thanks again for the info

Liesl

Colin Moretti
11-03-2009, 9:08 AM
Hello Liesl

If you scroll to the bottom of the page you'll see what records survive and where they're held, in the case in the Northern Health Services Archives (http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/searches/locresult_details.asp?LR=1105).

Patient clinical records are normally closed for 100 years so if your ancestor died after 1910 you are unlikely to be able to get copies although admission and discharge records are normally accessible. I can't say whether or not the Archives will search for and copy any records they may have on your ancestor - you may have to employ a researcher to look for you unless you're planning a trip to the UK. Write to the archivist and ask her the questions.

Colin

Peter Goodey
11-03-2009, 2:15 PM