PDA

View Full Version : Ecclesiastical Questions 17th century

Sue Simonich
02-02-2009, 6:15 PM
Hello Chatters:

Well, I have had the unfortunate experience of loosing a post I added last night. I thought it was saved, but this morning it is missing. If it turns up and appears to be redundant, please forgive me.

My post asked a lot of questions about The Church of England, for which I have no experience, though I have looked at their website and have been able to ascertain some of the answers I needed.

In general, I am looking for more information about records that would have been kept by a rector in the 17th century. I am unsure of the duties of such an office and would like to know more.

1. What are/were the duties of a rector?
2. Where would one find the records penned by each rector?
3. Did the rector live in the rectory, or would parsonage be a more appropriate term in the 17th century?
4. Were they affiliated with an Abbey at this time or did the English Reformation completely cancel out the old conventions?

SPECIFICALLY, I am looking for information on 17th century rector of Symondsbury, Rev. Walter Newburgh, who graduated from Oxford in 1624. He held the office until his death in 1631. His grandmother had apparently purchased the “advowson” for him. Some question of ownership is implied in the history of this family. In what I have been able to learn, ownership of an advowson was often passed down with ownership of a manor. Is this true in all cases?

Rev. Walter was affiliated with Rev. Whiteway, who masterminded the immigration from England to New England, by the Puritans.

Thanks as always for your assistance. |angel| ~Sue

Geoffers
02-02-2009, 7:11 PM
1. What are/were the duties of a rector?

What follows is a very brief precis, which I hope makes sense - I would stand to be corrected by someone who is actually involved in the church and better knows what has always seemed a rather complicated state of affairs.