PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Passenger List

Lindad
16-01-2009, 6:32 PM
|help| If anyone has access to the Canadian Passenger Lists, 1865-1935, I would be most grateful if could kindly do a search for me...

I want to know the details (ie. date, ship etc.) of Amy BERRETT who sailed from England to St Johns, Newfoundland.

I had hoped to find her on the UK lists (which I have a subscription for) but, of course she isn't! I had also expected to find her on the 1911 UK census... but can't find her so now wonder if she had already left for Canada...

Many, many thanks!

Linda

Aislin
16-01-2009, 6:49 PM
http://www.afhs.ab.ca/registry/regnf_census.html#1911

Did you see these? You might have some luck finding her on the census for Canada

Lindad
16-01-2009, 8:43 PM
Many thanks for that... but I'm afarid she didn't stay in Newfoundland; that was just were her ship was bound for.

I've found her listed on the Canadian Passenger Lists on A******y but don't have a subscription that covers those particular records. Depending on the date she travelled I will then know whether to continue looking for her on the 1911 UK census or one in Canada.

Amy was my grandfather's youngest sister and the youngest of nine children. They parents died quite young in 1905. Amy spent some time living with an aunt in London, then some time in the Police Orphanage before going to Canada with the Salvation Army who had promised her a job in service over there. In 1917, at the age of 20, she was married in Halifax. We know the rest of her story, but it's the bit inbetween 1905 and 1917 that we are unclear about.

I had previously thought she went to Canada in 1914 but, as I can't find her on the 1911 census, I wonder if she went earlier. The information that will answer my question is there - but I'm reluctant to take out yet another expensive subscription for just one record!

Aislin
16-01-2009, 8:49 PM