PDA

View Full Version : Doggett family

Chris Bass
06-02-2005, 12:34 PM
Hi,
I am new to this and am trying to find information about my great great grandfather Malachi Doggett who was born in 1842 or 1843 depending on which list you read. I think he lived in Oakington but not sure where he was born. I also think he married Hannah and had 5 children.

Trish
06-02-2005, 4:00 PM
Hi,
I am new to this and am trying to find information about my great great great grandfather Malachi Doggett who was born in 1842 or 1843 depending on which list you read. I think he lived in Oakington but not sure where he was born. I also think he married Hannah and had 5 children.Chris,

Malachi and Hannah and family are on the 1881 census which you can access via www.familysearch.org. It lists him as a gardener, born in Oakington about 1843. And I see him on the 1891 and 1901 censuses.

There's also a birth listing for Malachi DOGGETT in the civil registration index for Britain:
Doggett, Malachi 1842 September [quarter] Births Chesterton Cambridgeshire

Hope this helps. I will look for him on the 1871 census -- he's not showing up but probably because he's under a different spelling of either his first or last names.

Trish

Trish
06-02-2005, 4:07 PM
Chris,

Here's Malachi in 1871 mistranscribed as Mathchia [although spelling on the image looks right]:

Name Age / Birthplace / Relationship / Civil Parish / Occupation
Mathchia Doggett 28 Oakington, Cambridgeshire, England Head Coton Farmer Labourer
Hannah Doggett 29 Coton, Cambridgeshire, England Wife Coton
Esther Doggett 5 Coton, Cambridgeshire, England Daughter Coton Scholar
Charles Robert Doggett 3 Coton, Cambridgeshire, England Son Coton
Richard Doggett 9 months Coton, Cambridgeshire, England Son Coton
James Stocker 32 Sweversey, Cambridgeshire, England Lodger Coton Farmer Labourer

Source information: RG10/1584
Registration district: Chesterton
Sub-registration district: Great Shelford
ED, institution, or vessel: 9
Folio: 25
Page: 10