PDA

View Full Version : Family of Canon Pyon

BrassPlayer
12-12-2008, 7:32 PM
Hi everybody. I look forward to many enjoyable hours on what looks like a very helpful site. I am quite new to family history research and would appreciate any help. I am interested in learning more about my Canon Pyon connections. James and Elizabeth Jones lived in Canon Pyon at least until 1901. The Jones family included a George, a Rosetta and a Catherine, plus possibly another seven or so children. I believe they lived in Ebnal? Can anyone help please. I also know that Elizabeth Jones' parents came from Colver in Radnorshire/Powys and they were called John and Anne Davies.
Many thanks.
BrassPlayer

Jan1954
12-12-2008, 8:04 PM
Hello Brassplayer - welcome to Brit-Gen,

What do you already have about your Canon Pyon Joneses? Do you have them in the censuses? If not, post a few more clues, like approximate years of birth, and then we can have a rummage for them.

Oh yes - have you seen what GENUKI has to say about Canon Pyon (http://www.wishful-thinking.org.uk/genuki/HEF/CanonPyon/contents.html)? Click the different links within the page.

radnor2
15-12-2008, 11:10 AM
Ebnal is probably Ednol. It is near New Radnor but is hardly a place now, there is a ruined chapel there. The records would probably be in Powys Archives in Llandrindod Wells.
As would Colva. Colva is a tiny remote settlement near Gladestry and is in the New Radnor Group of parishes it has a gem of a church reputed to be the highest in Wales.

SBSFamilyhistory
17-12-2008, 9:17 AM
could this be the family on the 1901 census?

Piece: 2494; Folio: 9; Page: 9.

Sue

Al et al
26-01-2009, 9:49 AM
Gidday,

I am researching two canon pyon links:

1. Elizabeth? of CP m. william lloyd b.1845 ivington
2. James reynolds b.1849 CP m. caroline walton b c1850 CP

Do these names mean anything to anyone? I am aware that I am clutching at straws with #1

Many thanks, Alisan

janbooth
26-01-2009, 12:09 PM