PDA

View Full Version : Stuck before I start...

esslw
08-12-2008, 9:42 PM
I'm trying to find an Edward Thomas Williams in Wales... I'm a total newbie and have just whizzed through £15 in credits trying to find him in the 1901 census (took me only minutes to spend it!!). I suspect I've been working though the census rather randomly and my results have been way off the mark as a result.

Perhaps someone could provide me with some advice as to how to go about this kind of search? Do you just keep buying credits until you've gone through all the likely candidates?!

The information that I have at the moment is:

Edward Thomas Williams (c'1896 - c'1930). He married Frances Crean on 27/12/1921 and lived in Cwmbran in S. Wales at the time of his death (which may have been on 2/10/1930).

He fought in WW1 and worked down the mines in S. Wales.

His parents were John Williams (d. c'1940) and Louisa Shepherd (c'1863 - c'1934). I believe he had siblings by the name of William, Thomas, Edgar, Doris, Trevor and Agnes.

I'm especially keen to find out about his war efforts, but since I haven't even worked out where he was born yet, I suspect I may be trying to run before I can walk!!

Your advice would be gratefully received - where on earth should I start? |help|(BTW: I have ordered the marriage certificate already).

Astoria
08-12-2008, 9:49 PM
A warm welcome from me, and a bit of advice. There is a lot of free stuff out there.

Sue Mackay
08-12-2008, 10:10 PM
If you go to http://www.freebmd.org.uk/ and work with what you know you can build up information and spend your money on certificates, which will be far more productive than credits on census sites. Your local library probably has free access to Ancestry, where you can search the census returns for free.