PDA

View Full Version : Maesteg?

flounder
24-11-2008, 1:57 PM
Hi all,

am searching the Welsh side of my family. My Gt Gt grandmother was born in Maesteg in 1868 i am led to believe, she was in the workhouse in 1881 aged 13. When i am searching for her, where would i look, ie what town? Have looked through FreeBMD, but can only get a Sarah Hopkins born Merthyr Tydvil or Neath, which one would Maesteg come under, have had a look at the towns listed and its not coming up, i am trying to find out where her son was born in 1886 and what name he wouldve used and also if she married previous to my Gt Gt grandfather, as they didnt marry until 1889.

Many thanks
Wendy

Thomasin
24-11-2008, 2:14 PM
I'm not an expert on Welsh towns either, but (going by Google), you could try Neath or Bridgend - or just set the FreeBMD county to Glamorgan. This should get it.

Thomasin

flounder
24-11-2008, 2:17 PM
Thanks, i have been putting in county of Glamorgan, and Merthyr and Neath have popped up, so it looks like it could be Neath, just my luck it could be Merthyr too lol

Thanks Again
Wendy

John Nicholas
24-11-2008, 5:05 PM
Wendy,

Maesteg appears to have been part of Llangynwyd (Fawr or Higher) parish. That parish was part of the Neath registration district until 1888, when it transferred to Bridgend district. So, assuming your family sources are correct, Neath is the district to concentrate on up to 1888.

John

Penny Gallo
24-11-2008, 5:27 PM
I did find on the 1871 census (via A*Y):

Glamorgan/ Llangynwyd/ Maesteg/ "The Village"
Schedule number 11:

Rees Hopkins, Head, Married, 47, Fireman
Harriet Hopkins, Wife, " , 42
Margaret " , Dau, Unm , 20, General Servant
Catherine " , " " , 17
Rees " , Son, " , 12
Elias " , " " , 7
Sarah Ann " , Dau " , 2
Mary C Lewis, Granddau, 8 months.

All were said to be born in Llangynwyd.

Any use?

Penny Gallo
24-11-2008, 5:36 PM