PDA

View Full Version : A little help from the otherside?

Jo from Australia
20-10-2008, 10:36 AM
Maybe? Maybe not? But I MUST tell you about the weirdest thing! I have been doing my paternal grandmothers history for many years now and the little information I have is scarce and often plauged with white lies and the such. I found her mothers marriage cert finally a few years back and it listed her address as Custance Street in Shoreditch. It was early 1900's and it was a **** part of town. I spent a while looking for it and could not find it on any map - no matter what the age of the map. My hubby purchased London :A life in maps for christmas and low and behold in a chapter on "A Hoxton Childhood" there was a small excert from a 1920's map....there was custance street! I checked google maps and found that it is still there and thanks to statelite pictures I coudl see it! Now I ahve had this book for almost a year and read through it a number of times but never noticed the map on hoxton! Imagine my surprise with the little map showing only a few streets but happened to be the one I was after! :o) Happy surprise!

pipsqueak
20-10-2008, 12:16 PM
Sometimes the answers are right under our noses - which is why it pays to keep going back and looking everything over. :)

busyglen
20-10-2008, 1:08 PM
Really pleased for you Jo. It's really strange how things jump out and hit you at a later stage. As Pipsqueak says...it certainly pays to go over things more than once.

Glenys

Jo from Australia
21-10-2008, 10:46 AM
I keep going over the death reg over and over again but still cant find the death for at least 6 of the ancestors! keep on lookin!

Penny Gallo
21-10-2008, 12:07 PM