PDA

View Full Version : CHIDGEY family in Somerset

topaz
26-01-2005, 10:18 PM
Hello all,
I am a newcomer to this site, but have requested info. on various other sites with regards to this name - to little avail!

The family I am interested in lived at 'shells', a cottage which was and still is in the area of Washford Cross. My ancestor Robert Chidgey, lived there from the 1840s into the 20th century.
I have the usual census information from 1851 on but if anyone could provide any information earlier than this, or perhaps some general information with regards to this area in the 19th century I would be extremely grateful.

Caroline

holc
08-02-2006, 3:40 AM
Hello Caroline,
I am also new to this. I see you are interested in the Chidgey family of Somerset. My family of HOLCOMBE of the Somerset area of St Decumans, are also connected to the Chidgey family. I was wondering if you possibly have come across any of their names?

John Holcombe bapt 1752 married Jane Chidgey in 1781 at St Decumans.

His son John Holcombe bapt 1785 in St Decuman's Somerset, also married a Mary Chidgey 8th Sept 1805 at St Michaels Bristol, Gloucester.

Regards,
Hazel

topaz
08-02-2006, 6:49 PM
Hello Hazel,

The names you mentioned do not appear in my branch of the Chidgey family tree. However, if I do come across any information relating to them, I will of course, pass it on to you.
My Chidgey's lived in the St. Decumans area from the C17th to the early C20th, so it is possible there could be a connection somewhere?!

Caroline

Fulhamster
08-02-2006, 8:21 PM
Hi Topaz!
I often got to Somerset where I have lots of freinds and family. The name CHIDGEY is still quite common there. I know that only a few years ago there were Chidgeys at Spaxton, near Bridgewater. It may be worthwhile looking for them in local directories. Good luck!

topaz
08-02-2006, 8:57 PM
Hi Fulhamster,

Thanks for the advice,