PDA

View Full Version : To Encourage those with Brick Walls

Dorset Girl
02-10-2008, 3:35 AM
This is a (reasonably long) tale of the mystery of the death of my mother's brother in 1942. He was killed during the war and whilst my grandparents had a picture of his grave there was a lot of speculation as to where he was killed.

According to his wife's second husband (long tale as my grandmother did not even attend her son's wedding,) my Uncle was supposedly lost in the Bay of Biscay and was serving aboard HMS Egret sloop at the time of his death. She was struck by a glider bomb on 27th April 1943 which exploded her magazine. There were no survivors.

This did not agree with the War Graves Commission records, according to them he died on the HMS Zetland, so I have been hunting for the answer for over 40 years.

I wrote to the Royal Navy History Museum as there was a diary kept by one of the officers on board, they kindly searched the diary for me but couldn't find a reference to my Uncle.

I had since googled Egret and Zetland into oblivion and found nothing of any consequence. One day I came across a reference to a book which detailed the mustard gas attack on the HMS Zetland and other ships on 2 Dec 1943. At the bottom of the piece the author said "I am a member of the RBL and Poppy Appeal, Organiser for Scarborough, a member of the RNA, George Cross Island Ass. and an Honorary Citizen of Valletta."

Nothing ventures - nothing gained - I took a punt checked the UK telephone directory and there was someone with the same name as the author living in Scarborough! So I rang him - as we all do!! I ascertained he was the gentleman who wrote the book and advised him I was trying to unravel a mystery concerning the death of my Uncle George. After some discussion he felt that my Uncle was the person who was killed by schrapnel from a shell that exploded when it emerged from the gun turret.