PDA

View Full Version : French Birth

rayrussell2000u
31-07-2008, 3:41 PM
How do I obtain a french birth certificate. All I know is that her name was Marie Pauline Zazzi known as Polina aswell. She married Pietro Agazzi. She was born in 1851 in France Paris. I only know Paris there is no other region.

Can anyone help?

Sue Mackay
31-07-2008, 6:13 PM
I have no experience of researching in France but you may find something useful here (http://www.cyndislist.com/france.htm)

margarita
31-07-2008, 11:19 PM
I Googled "France genealogy" and came up with, amongst others, this

A Beginner's Guide to Researching Your French Ancestry
http://tinyurl.com/6e3bg8

Regards,

maggie

MartinM
01-08-2008, 5:41 PM
Hi,

You need to try and find out which 'arrondisement' of Paris.

Births are registered at the town hall (Mairie) and each arrondisement has it's own.

You can then contact the department of 'etat civile' at the Mairie, who are normally very helpful. Entries are normally photocopied and sent to you for free within two or three days.

There are volunteers as in this forum, who will search the records for you, but this often takes a long time, particularly in Paris, where there is a high demand.

If I can help with translations or other French ancestry, please feel free to contact me.

Regards
Martin

rayrussell2000u
01-08-2008, 8:39 PM
Thank you that is very helpful. However the only place of birth I know is Paris and this is from census records. They literally only tell me that she was born in France in Paris.

What can I do now? Am I at a dead end?

Thank you

Ray

Hi,

You need to try and find out which 'arrondisement' of Paris.

Births are registered at the town hall (Mairie) and each arrondisement has it's own.

You can then contact the department of 'etat civile' at the Mairie, who are normally very helpful. Entries are normally photocopied and sent to you for free within two or three days.