PDA

View Full Version : Research Before 1700's

TIMBERLAKE
03-01-2005, 8:53 PM
Hi everyone,
I have had great success traceing my family line back as far as 1696. My query is, where do you go from there?, All the contacts that I have, who are researching the Timberlake line, stop at that date, William Timberlake, M Mary Dancer, of High Wycombe, Bucks.
Where do you look to find earlier information, I am very new to all this and since I am in Australia, most of my searching has to be on line.
I would be most grateful if some kind soul could point me in the right direction.
Thank you, Chris Timberlake.

Cornish Maid
05-01-2005, 12:42 AM
This may not be much help, but have you tried A2A? This is the on=line index to Archives and where they are held. Its by no means complete but a fantastic site, even though its pretty tedious to search, it has, in my case anyway, yielded some fantastic results.

Geoffers
05-01-2005, 9:09 AM
I have had great success traceing my family line back as far as 1696. My query is, where do you go from there?, All the contacts that I have, who are researching the Timberlake line, stop at that date, William Timberlake, M Mary Dancer, of High Wycombe, Bucks. Where do you look to find earlier information, I am very new to all this and since I am in Australia, most of my searching has to be on line.
The basic tools for tracing a family back in time are Parish Registers. Have you tried using them, or have you been relying on contacts who have provided you with the relevant information?

Survival of registers back into the 17th century can be patchy, especially around the time of the Commonwealth. If yours is one of the parishes with registers which have not survived from this time, then try the annual copy which was made and is known as either Archdeacon's or Bishop's Transcripts (usually abbreviated to AT or BT).