PDA

View Full Version : McDiarmid Family in Bordesley Green

SandraJ
03-01-2005, 6:37 PM
Can anyone help - I am new to all this - I have just accquired a copy of the Scottish 1881 Census listing the details of my paternal family history. The 1891 Census lists them all but after that I have lost any further details.

This has opened up a whole host of family information going backwards to 1830. However my grandfather Alexander came to England, I guess after his time in the Army - he enlisted in 1901.

Have tried searching the 1901 Census for England but no luck. Can anyone advise.

Trying to get back to the UK within the next two months, to continue searching - where would the Birmingham records be kept?
Can you just turn up to search, can you request copies of certificates etc??

Donald NZ
28-01-2005, 1:56 AM
Hi Sandra

Can I suggest that you fill in some more detail of what you are looking for. There are many knowledgable and helpful persons on the forum that may be able to assist, but would need a little background and an understanding of what you are searching for.
If you have traced back to 1830, you must have a genealogy lineage. I recall, from sometime last year having MacDermid from around Tongue & Durness in the early 1800 period, they may possibly link to your linage as MacDermid was not a common name in Sutherland.
Donald

NZ

Peggy
28-01-2005, 3:42 AM
Hi Sandra,

You can find out about the Birmingham RO at www.birmingham.gov.uk/registeroffice
And about the Library at www.birmingham.gov.uk/libraries

Guess you found these on the 1901? None in Warwickshire.

Alexander Mcdiarmid 36 Scotland Head Barking Essex
Alec Mcdiarmid 54 Scotland Bro-in-law Leicester formerly St Margaret Leicestershire
Alex Mcdiamond 48 Scotland Head St Mary Hampshire

Peggy

Marcus Mackay
09-04-2005, 2:16 AM