PDA

View Full Version : Barratt or Barrett Family

kimmy
22-12-2004, 12:30 AM
Hi to everyone,

I am very new to this and not getting very far!

I am looking for the above Edward James Barrett or Barratt born 1863 and died in India 1935. He was married to Elizabeth Wells but I have no further info. I think I have found them in the 1891 Census but cannot read it properly. Can anybody help? Thank you. Kimmy.

Procat
22-12-2004, 8:28 AM
Hi Kimmy,

There are a lot of people here willing to help but you really need to provide as much information as possible.

For example, if you think you have found them in the 1891 census but are having trouble reading the entry post the details from that - such as where they were in that census. The Ancestry web site sometimes has clearer images than some of the CD images and also lists the place so that helps in interpretating entires (though they are not always correct and not all places have been indexed and scanned as yet).

If you have the year of birth do you also have the place or an idea of what it might be. Even the county assists.

Also, a general forum such as this one may not be the best place to post. Try posting in the county that you think they were born or lived in.

Regards,

Geoffers
22-12-2004, 8:56 AM
I am looking for the above Edward James Barrett or Barratt born 1863 and died in India 1935. He was married to Elizabeth Wells but I have no further info. I think I have found them in the 1891 Census but cannot read it properly. Can anybody help? Thank you. Kimmy.
Hello Kimmy
Everything that Procat has written - plus - do you have the marriage certificate for Edward BARRETT and Elizabeth WELLS? If so, does this mention their fathers' and their occupations? This may help to identify them on the 1901 and 1881 census.

If they were still in the UK in 1901, the online census index records 16 Edward Barr(a/e)tts born within 1 year of 1863. Are any of these similar?