PDA

View Full Version : Devonshire Street Cemetery

Reider
30-03-2008, 5:26 PM
Here is my problem !! According to St.James Church of England my wife's ancestors were
buried at Devonshire Street Cemetery.
Andrew Oliver Died 29 March 1841
John Oliver Died 10 July 1841
Andrew Charles Died 5 Dec.1838
They were reburied at St.Thomas Restpark,North Sydney
When I contacted the North Sydney Gov., they said there was no record of the
re-interment at St. Thomas.
There was a Alexander Oliver & family buried at St.Thomas.
He is the son of Andrew Oliver and was the applicant for re-burial.
Any help appreciated.

Reider

Danno
03-04-2008, 12:41 AM
Hi Reider

Although I'm fairly new at researching, the dead-ends i've encountered are teaching me as I go.

http://www.records.nsw.gov.au/archives/archives_in_brief_69_2131.asp

This gov site might help as a guide for alternative research, I tried to look for death records not in the time frame you listed, IE; they may have been recorded at the time of re-burial,?. I'm learning to go out on a limb to compensate for human error. It may have been a cold day when they were writing these records, so an extra dose of Rum may have been in order ;).
N.S.W bdm
V1835637 129/1835 OLIVER JOHN JOHN JOHNSON
V18451360 62/1845 OLIVER JOHN J THOMAS BRIDGET
V18451011 145/1845 OLIVER JOHN J THOMAS BRIDGET

Take care
Danno.

ColinR
30-05-2008, 1:34 AM
Hi Reider

I looked up your names and found on NSW BDM
Andrew C Infant 1838 cert V1838251422/1838
Alexander Age 40 cert V1841145325B/1841
John Age 34 cert V184135425B/1841
I also looked up Devonshire st Cemetry and found that 106 people were re-intered at Rookwood Cemetry in 1901 maybe one of those are yours.

Regards Colin

Lenore
30-05-2008, 3:22 AM
Hi Reider,