PDA

View Full Version : HMS Talavera. 1820

GillT
15-02-2008, 10:41 PM
I'm quite new to this so I hope I'm posting this in the right place!

Some time ago we discovered in some family papers a small book, made by hand and beautifully written with a few delightful illustrations. It tells a very simple story of a ships cat which eventually fell overboard and drowned.

In the back cover is a note "This book was composed byFrancis Carpenter jnr. and given to his sister in the month of October 1820".

However, in a different more mature hand another note has been added, "Departed this life by falling out of HMS Talavera in Sheerness Harbour and was drowned 3rd November 1820"

I have found some information on the Talavera (I gather there were a number of ships given this name), but cannot find any reference anywhere to Francis Carpenter or confirmation of what happened to him. (I have traced details of his sister and I believe his mother)

Can anyone suggest where I may be able to find out more about him, and even details of his death?

Thanks

GillT

Neil Wilson
15-02-2008, 11:20 PM
Hello GillT and welcome to the forum.
I think the place to start would be the parish registers for Sheerness. You do not say where he was originally from, but I doubt that his body would have been returned home in those days. You could also look for local newspapers which might have reported the accident and whether there was an inquest. This would help in identifying whether he was a sailor or a dock worker.
Seems tragic that he wrote a book about a ship's cat that drown and he also drown falling from a ship.

Geoffers
16-02-2008, 12:46 PM
If your chap was in the RN, there will be a load of records at The National Archives (TNA), Kew. What you find depends on what he did within the RN - have a look at the research guides prefixed Royal Navy (http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/researchguidesindex.asp#r)