PDA

View Full Version : DEARDEN the friendly geordie

jimdearden
05-02-2008, 8:21 PM
A big hello from the frozen North East of England (actually its a lovely part of the country - lovely beaches, empty roads, history etc. but don't tell anyone 'cos they'll want to visit and spoil it all)

I've been researching the family history now for about 2 years - starting with asking questions of elderly relatives etc. and then moving on to computer based searches etc.

Initially I had a lot of success tracing back my DEARDEN family because its a very unusual name, especially in this part of the country. Strangley enough I had very little problem tracing my mothers side of the family (BAKERS) which is a very common name.

For nearly 2 years I have been trying to find the parents of my Gt Gt Grandfather JAMES HENRY DEARDEN.

He married VIOLET THOMPSON (b1842 Tynemouth) in NOV 1870 in Newcastle (have wedding cert copy) , My Gt Grandfather was born a few months later in BISCHOP AUCKLAND (Co. Durham) and they appear in the 1871 census living in HEBBURN QUAY (on the South side of the river TYNE) they later moved to the West end of Newcastle.

Ok so far - the problem is he lied on the official forms which is making it difficult to trace his father/family. From his age at death (1906) he was born 1842, from census info it was 1851. Place of birth - take your pick Scotland, York or Wales. On the marriage cert he gives the name of his father as JAMES DEARDEN - FILE GRINDER. Family 'history' as told to me by my father talks about a Sheffield stone grinder. The cert also shows him as a widower (most unlikely as I think he was about 18 when he married - giving his yob as about 1851/52).

So if anyone can locate the missing link - I am looking for JAMES HENRY DEARDEN's family. Father could be called JAMES, File grinder, possibly Sheffield area - I'd be very greatful. |banghead|

Jim Dearden

Geoffers
05-02-2008, 10:33 PM