PDA

View Full Version : A simple basic software?

Balliol
01-02-2008, 4:52 PM
I am new to this and I would like to build a slde show for my children showing what I have found so far with aview to updating it as I go along.
I would like to be able to build a family tree and attach small photographs to each name.
I am sure that such software must exist but wonder if anyone would care to make a sugestion.

Geoffers
01-02-2008, 7:21 PM
There are so many different programmes, each of which will record a family history - not too sure about the slideshow though. I suggest a couple of things:

1. Buy one of the monthy family history magazines, they often have comparisons between different software - or check the magazine's web-site to see if a comparison is there.

2. Use a search engine, and enter 'Genealogy Software' have a look at some of the hits you get. It is possible to get shareware programmes where you can enter a few details and see how you like them - it's a good way of testing things out.

3. I would not take anyone's recommendation of a particular particular for a beginner - people are biased towards what they like, and what someone else likes may not suit you. I've see reference to a couple of programmes recently on these forums which others like and I think are awful, but just because I don't like them doesn't make them perfectly useful and useable and just what someone else wants.

arthurk
01-02-2008, 7:41 PM
If your search produces an unwieldy list, you could also try the software listings at Cyndi's List (which is a massive site with links to all kinds of family history sites). I'm not sure if I can give the URL here, but a search engine would find it. As far as I could tell when I looked a few days ago, it included all the better-known programs, as well as some lesser-known ones.

Arthur

suedent
01-02-2008, 9:06 PM
If you just wish to provide a slideshow of photos & text then something like MS Powerpoint might be the way to go.